The Life of One Beader and Supplier

As I sit here waiting for the call from the hospital that my mother is ready to be picked up from her colonoscopy procedure, I’ve been thinking that I haven’t written an actual post since I started this blog on WordPress.  I just imported my Blogger posts and have been posting Items of the Day and Treasuries. I haven’t had a lot of time to actually do some writing and I may not have much time now.

I do want to say that being a designer of handmade jewelry and running my own small, handmade business has kept me busier than any of the administrative roles I’ve had in the past.  The one good thing about what I do now, is that I can be on my own schedule, which is pretty much a requirement with the way my health is.  Mostly my bipolar disorder and depression, which keeps me from maintaining a regular schedule and keeps me down some of the time to where I’m not able to do much of anything.  Yet this is the busiest I’ve ever been, because so much time is spent not only on making jewelry, but listing items, writing descriptions, taking photos, entering orders into my database, preparing and shipping packages and the big one….promoting!  Not only do I promote my own work, but also the work of other artists on Etsy.  It seems that karma does happen.  When I promote the work of others, it seems that my work is also promoted, but when I don’t promote others’ work, my work remains dormant in the sea of Etsy wares.  So, promotion seems to be a daily task, from posting on Facebook (which I need to do more of), to Tweeting and Re-Tweeting, Pinning and posting to Kaboodle and Wanelo.  And then there’s the Blogger blog and this WordPress blog.

In fact, there often seems like there aren’t enough hours in the day to do all I need to do in order to have even the smallest amount of success as a handmade artist and seller.  I’m not only running a jewelry shop on Etsy, but also a jewelry supply shop.

The supply shop keeps me even busier as there are a lot of people in the market to buy supplies at a decent price and so often I’m preparing orders for shipment and getting them out, or I’m photographing new items and sorting them into little plastic baggies, which makes me think “beaders’ crack” because beading can be such an addiction.  Believe me, I know!

One thing is for sure, I do everything within my power to make sales and it’s not always an easy task.  However, I have been obtaining more sales in the past month, which I find very encouraging.  Especially since several of my orders have been for both custom jewelry and custom handmade charms.   I seem to go through these periods of being incredibly busy that I’m running around in crazy mode and then come these periods of nothingness where orders cease for a while.  I utilize that time catching up with my admin work for the business.  Right now, I still have quite a stack of orders I need to enter into my sales database that I created a while back in Access 2007.  I’ll be getting to those during my next slow period.

It’s funny, I never had busy periods when I was on ArtFire.  I was lucky to make a sale once every 3 to 4 months, no matter how hard I worked at promoting.   I am so glad that I made the switch to Etsy, because at least my work is paying off a bit.  I just keep a positive attitude, answer convos whenever they come in and try to come up with new and creative ideas.

So, that’s my little bit on that.  Mind you, I’m not the best at article-writing, but I do try to talk about what is happening in my little corner of the world.  I hope you’ve found my post interesting and I’ll be writing more in the coming weeks.  I should be getting the call to pick my mother up any minute and I want to be able to post this before I have to leave.

Have a great day!

Mark

