The Most Gruelling Could Be A Best Seller

I’ve been doing chandelier earrings for a while now.  However, they’ve been basically pretty simple chandeliers with 3 to 5 rows of single-row crystals or other beads.  Pretty recently, I started making chandelier earrings for my mother.  She loves really big earrings that sweep back and forth as she moves her head.  Almost drag queen big!  These require a lot more time and patience to make, to where I sometimes feel like the process goes on forever.  Here are a couple of examples of the kind I’m talking about:

Purple Chandelier Earrings
Purple and Silver Swarovski Chandelier Earrings
Green Chandelier Earrings
Green Swarovski and Gold Chandelier Earrings

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I posted these pictures on Instagram, which also went to Facebook, Twitter and Flickr.  Since posting them, they’ve gotten rave reviews from friends and fans alike and I’ve been receiving requests for custom earrings like these in different colors.  One customer is ordering two pairs in LGBT Rainbow Pride colors with the purple Swarovski rhinestone flower in the middle and the remaining 5 pride colors to hang underneath, like in the purple pair shown above.

So while these earrings may seem like somewhat of a daunting task, I am beginning to see that they’re not so bad to make if they’re gaining popularity and I’m generating orders!  I think my biggest hurdle is having patience when making them.  Sure, the work is repetitive, but as long as I keep in mind that these can be a door opening for me to greater things, I find it worthwhile.

Another thing I have been working on that is a major work-in-progress for me that requires a lot of patience is a 3-Strand link-type necklace which has Swarovski crystals (of course), Amazonite and even Majorica pearls which I took from a broken vintage necklace.  I place these between antique silver bead caps.  I think the light blue/green of the Amazonite combined with hints of dark purple and light blue Swarovski crystals go smashingly together!  I still have a way to go on it, but in the long run, I think it will look divine and will  possess a vintage appeal.  Here’s a picture I took this morning on Instagram of the necklace so far:

A Work In Progress
A Work In Progress
