You see, Carol Ann, you have to stay on top of things every single minute!

Okay, off the topic of jewelry for the moment….I just finished reading a fantastic book, called “The Mommie Dearest Diary:  Carol Ann Tells All” by the fabulous Rutanya Alda, who played Carol Ann in the film “Mommie Dearest”.

This is a remarkable diary that Rutanya decided to share with the world, which not only tells of the goings and on while filming Mommie Dearest and dealing with Faye Dunaway, but it also tells about Rutanya’s daily life at that time.  She has been gracious enough to share a very personal diary that you definitely want to read!

Rutanya Alda

While you might think that the life of a star is all glamour, think again.  The book shows us how much work goes into making a film and how people can transform themselves into a character for a film so brilliantly, while all the while they are trying to deal with difficult real life situations.

Rutanya Alda as Carol Ann in Mommie Dearest

Not only does the book have Rutanya’s word-for-word diary during the time of filming “Mommie Dearest”, but it also tells about Rutanya’s childhood which makes me grateful for the childhood I had – it’s amazing how much one person can endure!  It also talks about life leading up to and after making Mommie Dearest.

The Mommie Dearest Diary: Carol Ann Tells All by Rutanya Alda Available on Amazon

I’ll be honest that it’s been a long time since I’ve picked up a book to sit down, relax and read and I’m so glad that I did with The Mommie Dearest Diary.  I’d also like to thank Rutanya Alda for the autographed copy of the book, which I will treasure for life.  Reading this book has actually made me interested in reading again.  I’ve spent so much time keeping busy I forgot about the simple pleasures reading a book can bring.  I used to read Danielle Steel novels, but I think now I’m more interested in reading about the true lives of Hollywood stars.

Rutanya has an extensive resume working in both Movies and Television.  She’s been in films such as The Deer Hunter (1978), When a Stranger Calls (1979) and more recent projects such as The Glass House (2001)  Law & Order:  Criminal Intent (2004) Old Dogs and New Tricks (2014) and High Falls (2015) plus a LOT more.

Please be sure to order a copy of The Mommie Dearest Diary:  Carol Ann Tells All on Amazon and I know you’ll be so glad you did!

Here’s a great video of Rutanya being honored at San Francisco’s historic Castro Theater:

Also, I FINALLY have an excuse to post these Mommie Dearest recut trailers:

And then there’s…

And also…

 

